About SJS

The Swiss Journal of Sociology was established in 1975 on the initiative of the Swiss Sociological Association. It is published by Seismo and appears three times a year with the support of the Swiss Academy of Humanities and Social Sciences.

Since 2016, all the articles of the Swiss Journal of Sociology are available as open access documents on De Gruyter Open: https://www.degruyter.com/view/j/sjs

The journal is a multilingual voice for analysis and research in sociology. It publishes work on the theory, methods, practice, and history of the social sciences in English, French, or German.

Although a central aim of the Journal is to reflect the state of the discipline in Switzerland as well as current developments, articles, research notes, debates, and book reviews will be accepted irrespective of the author’s nationality or whether the submitted work focuses on this country.

The journal is understood as a representative medium and therefore open to all research areas, to a plurality of schools and methodological approaches. It neither favours nor excludes any research orientation but particularly intends to promote communication between different perspectives. In order to fulfil this aim, all submissions will be refereed anonymously by at least two reviewers.


Felix Bühlmann, Faculty of social and political science, University of Lausanne

Submission Manager

Marion Beetschen, University of Lausanne


Swiss Journal of Sociology
Faculté des sciences sociales et politiques
Institut des sciences sociales
Université de Lausanne
Geopolis – Mouline
CH-1015 Lausanne


Editorial Committee

Lucio Baccaro (University of Geneva), Ben Jann (University of Bern), Luca Pattaroni (EPFL, Lausanne), Sophie Mützel (University of Lucerne), Michael Nollert (University of Fribourg), Marc Perrenoud (University of Lausanne)

Book Reviews (DE + EN)

Dr. habil. Dietmar J. Wetzel
Co-Leitung SNF-Projekt “Transformative Gemeinschaftenals innovative Lebensformen?”
Universität Basel
Petersgraben 27
CH – 4051 Basel


Book Reviews (FR)

Kevin Toffel
Av. de Beaumont 21
CH-1011 Lausanne

International Advisory Board

Jeffrey Alexander (Yale University, New Haven), Margaret Archer (University of Warwick), Georges Balandier (Université de Paris-Sorbonne), Charles Camic (University of Wisconsin at Madison), Max Haller (Universität Graz), Bettina Heintz (Universität Luzern), Robert Hettlage (Universität Regensburg), Thomas Luckmann (Universität Konstanz), Alberto Martinelli (Università di Milano), Renate Mayntz (Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung, Köln), Richard Münch (Universität Bamberg), Helga Nowotny (ETH, Zurich), Jean Remy (Université Catholique de Louvain), Céline Saint-Pierre (Université de Québec à Montréal), Alain Touraine (EHESS, Paris), Anton Zijderveld (Erasmus Universiteit Rotterdam).


Seismo Press
Zähringerstrasse 26
CH-8001 Zürich

Tel: +41 44 261 10 94
Fax: +41 44 251 11 94
e-mail: buch@seismoverlag.ch
Internet: www.seismoverlag.ch

Subscribe for one year or order one issue (Seismo)